Veganomicon Butternut Squash and Pumpkin Seed Rice Paper Rolls with Peanut Sauce

Veganomicon is one of those cookbooks I can always count on to have solutions for just about any ingredients I have on hand.  Who would have though of putting together squash, pumpkin seeds and cilantro?  Apparently, Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero.  The pumpkin seeds I had from roasting yesterday; I usually have squash on hand since it is big-time squash season here in Quebec; and I had cilantro that needed to be used soon.  Add rice noodles and rice paper wrappers and … behold Butternut Squash and Pumpkin Seed Rice Paper Rolls!  They suggest a Cranberry – Chili Dipping Sauce to accompany them (also ingredients in-season and on-hand), but to me spring rolls still scream for peanut sauce.

Here’s how I put together a quick one:

  • 1/3 cup natural chunky peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 heaping tsp fresh ground chili sauce (sambal oelek)
  • scant amount of finely chopped hot red chili (I made it hot)
  • Whisk in enough hot water to make sauce the consistency you like

Some of the sauce went over the spring rolls, the rest went into a stir fry of yellow bell pepper, sliced carrots, sliced red onion, bok choy and spring onions over the remainder of the rice noodles.  I call it Use-Up-Whats-In-The-Crisper.

I loved the sweet, nutty and crunchy mix of the spring rolls.  Definitely to be made again 🙂

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Main course and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

