Seitan Pot Pie

This past weekend I swore I was not going to spend the better part of a day inside cooking.  After the frenzy that was Thanksgiving Weekend (the leftovers of which I just finished today) it was going to be something fast and simple for Saturday supper.  And then… I flipped through Veganomicon, and found there was something called the”Almost All-American Seitan Potpie.”

Well.. like a spoiled kid, I just had to have it 🙂  Even though it involed

1) Making the Simple Seitan (1 hour 30 minutes) and then

Cooked seitan, chopped, and being sautéd for the filling

2) Making the crust, the filling, assembling, and baking (supposed to take 1 hour 20 minutes, but it took little ‘ol disorganized me even longer than that).

So, if you were doing the math, that was over three hours to make supper.  The crust, of course, was a big hit with the kids.  My son loved the seitan (he loves all things seitanic, I mean seitan-like… chickpea cutlets, BBQ ‘chicken’ nuggets).  I thought it was great, but I would even do without the crust next time and make it like a stew.  In fact, in my schemish mind I am concocting an idea for an Irish stew using this seitan recipe that is going to be a sock-knocker-offer!

Until then, off to enjoy more autumn fun…

This entry was posted in Main course, Seitan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seitan Pot Pie

  1. Isabelle Vincent says:

    Hey Sheila – Nice blog!
    Here are some that I follow you might like
    the new vegetarian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/series/thenewvegetarian
    and
    smittenkitchen
    keep it up!
    Iz

Leave a Reply

