A belated Happy Thanksgiving!

Yesterday’s Thanksgiving meal was my first foray into the world of Tofurky.  Okay, I had had Tofurky slices and sausages but never the whole stuffed Tofurky deal.  There was always something about the taste of their products that I wasn’t quite keen on and this, sadly, was no exception.  Its certainly edible, but I find it has an odd aftertaste.  And, no, it won’t fool anybody into thinking its turkey.  But that’s okay by me; I was never a big fan of turkey.  I am a big fan of all the usual trimmings, including the stuffing and the gravy.  The stuffing portion of the Tofurky was very tasty.  I made the mushroom gravy according the package recipe, only I halved it and used 1 cup of rice milk and about 3/4 cup of vegetable broth.  I would cut the liquid portion down further to make a thicker gravy next time.  The potatoes, onions and carrots roasted with the Tofurky were delicious as was the steamed kale on the side.  For the next special occasion (yeah Christmas!!) I will definitely make something from scratch.

And for dessert:  A single crust apple pie, with only a top crust.  The apple filling is from the Complete Canadian Living Cookbook.  I had some great help from a little friend for this one 🙂

I’ll come clean right here though and say this wasn’t the only Thanksgiving meal served at my home.  No, there was another, more traditional one, involving a roast organic chicken (from a Quebec farm) with all the usual side dishes: bread stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, green beans with almonds and pumpkin pie for dessert.  I thought the folks around the table would appreciate it, and they sure did! (Yes, I had some too)

I guess I am still in that phase of “conscientious inconsistency” Jonathan Safran Foer details in the opening chapter of Eating Animals.  But, I believe my days of the double-special meal holidays are quickly coming to an end.  I’ll be scouring the food blogs and cook books for plant-based alternatives to the Tofurky before Christmas.  Any suggestions?

Edit:  Think I’ve found something here for sure:  Squash with Wild Rice and Chanterelle Stuffing and Rich Brown Gravy.  Drool 🙂

This entry was posted in Dilemas, Special occasions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A belated Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Mr. Vittles says:

    The tofurkey tasted okay, but I prefer my tofu either in a Pad Thai or marinated and grilled. Just be yourself, tofu!

  2. Sarah says:

    Tofurkey is okay, but not as good as homemade. But, when you are traveling to the deepest woods and staying at other people’s homes…can’t be beat. 🙂

    http://justthefood.blogspot.com/2009/10/truth-is.html

  3. Agreed, it was okay; I’ll be eating leftovers for a few days. Very easily transported in its little pouch 🙂

  4. Oh my!! Just looked at the link. Yes, that certainly looks better. I feel a special occasion coming on 🙂

Leave a Reply

