Vive le Vegan!’s Sweet Curry Chickpea Casserole and more Cheeze Sauce

I can always count on Dreena Burton’s Vive le Vegan! when looking for something satisfying to whip up with ingredients I already have on hand.  In keeping with the fall flavours, I went for the Sweet Curry Chickpea Casserole:  A sweet, mildly spicy, nutty flavour mix with sweet potatoes, chickpeas (duh) and apples.  I prepared some quinoa to serve it over, but ended up stirring the cooked quinoa right into the casserole and letting it soak up all the sweet coconutty goodness.  I have a lot of leftovers in the freezer, so I’m hoping this freezes well.

In my last post, I warned that I would be looking for all sorts of ways to use the cashew cheeze sauce from Vegan Yum Yum’s Mac  & Cheeze recipe.  Today, I made a sauce using the same ingredients except, instead of adding the boiled potatoes and carrots with their cooking water, I combined the cashews, miso, tahini, lemon, dijon, margarine, nutritional yeast (and added two cloves of garlic) and seasonings in a food processor to make a thick paste and just added 2-3 Tbs of rice milk to thin it slightly.  I boiled pasta and broccoli florets together until the pasta was tender.  Drained and tossed with the sauce and cherry tomatoes then drizzled and tossed in a little balsalmic vinegar and olive oil (about 2 tsp each).  Mmmm…mmm… good…

This entry was posted in Casserole, Cheezes, Pasta, Quebec produce and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vive le Vegan!’s Sweet Curry Chickpea Casserole and more Cheeze Sauce

  1. Jessica says:

    That chickpea curry looks soooo good! I don’t have that book, but I love Dreena’s others. I’m sure this is fantastic!

    That VYY mac & cheeze recipe is my FAVORITE. It’s amazing, isn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

