Potato-Leek Soup and Baked Kale Chips… my version of eat real, eat local

The Hellmann’s Mayonnaise “Eat Real, Eat Local” campaign started up over a year ago, but lately I’ve been seeing more and more of it in print, TV, and FB links to the campaign video:
(and so there I am doing my part too.. )
On the surface this is a message I firmly back: eating local produce, eating unrefined, simple food.. all good.  But lets think about this green wash-up for a moment (and its not like I’m the first to do this).  We’re talking about selling mayonnaise here folks… pure and simple… an industrialized, cholesterol-laden mass-produced product manufactured by Unilver.

To put their money where their mouth is, Hellmann’s 1/2 the Fat mayo is made with 100% Canadian free run eggs (the definition of which leaves much to be desired if I’m not mistaken) and canola oil from the prairies.  So the canola comes from one part of the country and the eggs from about 1,000 kms away and somewhere they’re all processed together and packaged up, labeled as real, local food then shipped up to 3,000 kms off to a grocery shelf.  Yep, sounds Real Local to me.

If you give their message a good listen, what they are advocating is that Canadians eat Canadian food.  Ok, I’m all for helping my fellow country-folk but if I’m really concerned about the distance my food travels, I’d be better off getting peaches from Georgia than from B.C.’s Okanagan valley; in fact, its twice as far.

But, on the up side, there is no shortage of excellent Quebec produce available these days, and I’m enjoying as much of it as possible:

Potato-leek soup made with Quebec leeks, Quebec potatoes, Quebec onions, Quebec garlic, Becel Vegan margarine (another Unilever product.. still looking, think its made in Quebec), Yu soy milk (produced in Quebec).  The only non-local item was GoBio Vegetable Bouillon Cubes.

And oven-baked Quebec kale chips:

And for breakfast:  Sweet local strawberries and Lac St. Jean wild blueberries on my cereal:

Hope you are all enjoying great local food… where ever you are 🙂
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

