Faux crab cakes and greek salad … best summer meal yet!

Hot, humid weather has returned to Montreal and that calls for light, refreshing meals.  I came across this recipe for Chesapeake Tempeh Cakes (or faux crab cakes) from the Post Punk Kitchen a few weeks back and have been waiting for a good moment to try them.  Soooo good: crunchy, flavourful, melt in your mouth goodness.  Oh, and real crab would kill Mr. Vittles, we don’t want that.  Instead of the remoulade though, I served them with a organic, bottled chili ginger sauce (from The Ginger People), which was a good match.  They were devoured 🙂

Salad is just a little thrown-together Greek inspiration:  Mesclan greens, red onion, cucumber, tomatoes, olives, capers, and feta from La Moutonnière (totally optional).  Vinaigrette was olive oil, balsalmic vinegar, lemon juice, dijon, oregano, fresh ground salt and pepper (sorry, I just whip this together by sight / taste and don’t have the exact portions written down).

What’s with the feta you may ask?  Well, you’ll note in the header it says “moving towards a plant-based diet.”  There’s a reason I don’t refer to myself as a vegan even though the majority of posts here highlight vegan cuisine.  There’s still some dairy slipping into my diet and I balance healthier / sustainable choices with living in an omnivore household.  I’ll still take some cream in coffee on occasion or enjoy an artisanal Quebec cheese or locally-produced Coaticook ice cream (made the old fashioned way).  I know full well there is a laundry list of reasons these foods should be avoided, but I’m still good at finding excuses to enjoy them.

In other news, we’ve been enjoying this excellent summer with various short trips, BBQ parties, pool parties, local festivals, you name it.  Its meant bringing along marinated portobellos or packaged veggie burgers mostly.  But today’s Gazette featured a selection of veggie burgers from Lukas Volger’s Veggie Burgers Every Which Way.  I haven’t seen the book, but I think I’ll have to try some of these (minus the egg, and maybe even the cheese).

Off to start some back-to-school shopping (already).. with me luck 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Faux crab cakes and greek salad … best summer meal yet!

  1. Hi, Mr. Vittles here. I just want to say that those faux crab cakes have made me a believer in Tempeh, which heretofore has not made a mind-blowing impression on me.Ms. Vittles, please forgive me for devouring the left-overs.

  2. I promise to make more. Lots. 🙂

Leave a Reply

