You don’t need to break eggs to make an omelette (but you do need to follow instructions)

Ok, so its not the weekend yet, but I woke up super hungry and eager to try my hand at making a tofu omelette that actually sticks together and doesn’t end up like tofu scramble.  Susan’s recipe over at FatFree Vegan Kitchen sounded easy enough so I gave it a whirl.  Only… I didn’t exactly follow the instructions.  Result:  Omelette #fail 😦  What didn’t I do?  Well, I used regular soft tofu (not Mori-Nu) and I only mashed everything up with a fork – not in a blender to make it smooth.  I ended up with a soupier albeit very tasty version of a tofu scramble with what was to be a filling of sauteed onions, mushrooms and red peppers.  Moral of the story:  Follow instructions! 🙂
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You don’t need to break eggs to make an omelette (but you do need to follow instructions)

  1. Sarah Goblot says:

    I find the omelet recipe on vegan dad to be awesome (and definitely use non-mori silken). The vegan brunch omelet is the best!!!

  2. Thanks Sarah. I'll give that a try too. I made another attempt this morning, using an immersion blender to mix the ingredients. It came out much better but still not quite perfect. Tasty though 🙂

Leave a Reply

