Tandori Tempeh and Potato Chana Masala


I’m pretty much always in the mood for the flavours of Indian food and its been a long time since I had any tempeh so on Monday I decided to go with those two thoughts and try some Tandori Tempeh with a side of a made-up-on-the-spot-recipe for Potato Chana Masala. The tempeh was amazing if I do say so myself and the chana was good but needed more heat.

Tandori Tempeh:
The Tandori Tempeh couldn’t be easier. Cut thawed tempeh in half and then in strips. Empty a package of tandori spice mix into a bowl. Add about a half cup of plain soy yoguart to make a paste. Add the cut tempeh to the sauce and mix well. Let marinate at least half an hour then simmer in a heavy saucepan until heated through. This would probably work well on an oiled grill too.

Potato Chana Masala
:
I managed to actually take note of what I was doing while making the chana and I’ll add the recipe here with the disclaimer that this is on the mild side and needs some tweaking.

1 medium yellow onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
Smidge of oil (if you insist on a technical term)
4 white potatoes, chopped in bite-size quarters
1 can chick peas, drained and rinsed
1 can peas (or 1 cup frozen or fresh)
1 tbsp chick pea flour (or regular flour)
2 tbsp curry powder
1 tbsp garam masala
1/2 tsp tumeric
1/2 tsp mustard seeds
dash of salt
3-4 tbsp non-dairy milk
handful of fresh chopped cilantro

Sauté onions and garlic in a medium-sized pot in a little oil over medium heat until onions are translucent. Add potatoes and cover with enough water for boiling. Increase heat and bring to a boil… keep on a low boil until they are tender. Drain potato-onion-garlic mixture but leave a little of the liquid – say about 1/2 a cup (as I say, I was doing this on the fly). Return to burner on low-medium. Stir in chick pea flour, spices, chick peas and peas. Keep stirring for a few minutes until the mixture thickens and is heated through. Add non-dairy milk for a saucier consistency. Add chopped cilantro at the end. Et voilà!

The left-over chana was turned into a wrap sandwich today:

I modeled this on Aux Vivres’ chana on chapati, but it was really missing the chutney. And their fabulous fresh chapatis. It made for a most satisfying lunch all the same. Most welcome after my first (of many) hot yoga classes. Have you tried this? Holy sweat beads Batman… I could feel myself melting!

Speaking of lunch, I finally tried Burritoville with a friend of mine on Tuesday. I had the spicy pinto burrito with a side of quinoa salad and homemade lemonade… YUMMERS! And thanks to a 2-for-1 coupon from my trusty Green Consiousness Guide, two could dine for $9 before drinks.

Say, that gives me an idea (I know shocking.. I have them sometimes!). I recently saw (and darned if I can remember where) somebody had compiled a list on a site of vegan restaurant meals for $7 and under. I don’t even remember where it was – a very veg-friendly US city anyway. It would be fun to compile a list like this for Montreal. I’m going to get on that for a future post. Anybody want to chime in with restaurant suggestions you are more than welcome. Has to be $10 and under before taxes. This is Montreal after all – $7 wouldn’t get you very far. Thanks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tandori Tempeh and Potato Chana Masala

  1. Jill says:

    The tempeh recipe looks great. I have no where near enough tempeh in my life! I love that before I even read the text under the picture of the curry wrap, I was thinking it reminded me of the one I had at Aux Vivres. So good! I love that place!

  2. Thanks Jill.. that tempeh was so fast and easy to do too! Aux Vivres..mmm… I'm overdue for a visit.. and the terrasse is open now!!

Leave a Reply

